URSULA SCHULZ-DORNBURG
Exhibition:


CURRENT EXHIBITIONS

PERMANENT EXHIBITION

EXHIBITIONS

SELECTED WORKS

BIBLIOGRAPHY

PUBLICATIONS

CONTACT





DEUTSCH

Ursula Schulz-Dornburg

An Architecture of Waiting

Photographs


29.10.2004 - 12.12.2004


Gallery Aedes West
Berlin

© Ursula Schulz-Dornburg.


© Ursula Schulz-Dornburg.
Press release

Ursula Schulz-Dornburg
An Architecture of Waiting - Photographs

The photographs of Ursula Schulz-Dornburg are showing bus stops and train stations like refuges lying between street and horizon, between the town limits and the mountains, between the steppes and utter nothingness. In these transitional zones, the question arises of the possibility of being at home in a world where reliable references disintegrate with startling rapidity, in a world of migration and exile, of a new, unparalleled nomadism.
Schulz-Dornburg's gaze is by no means focused on architecture in a monumentalizing manner. She arrives at an understanding with the landscape appearing in the background, and with the people waiting in front of it. These individuals are living evidence of the bare utility of these remnants of buildings even in the present, despite the original gravity of their alienated forms, and especially in view of their severe dilapidation.
These images show silent situations that have been reduced to the essential, and which unfold out of an inner core space of emptiness, of stillness.
The oeuvre of Schulz-Dornburg allude to the grand lines of development in Modernity, in which space emerged as a dynamic and sometimes dramatic process. Landscapes and places appear in a fragile balance suspended between genesis and perishing, things are revealed in the light of their finitude.

The exhibition is part of the "European Month of Photography".

© Ursula Schulz-Dornburg

URSULA SCHULZ-DORNBURG
Ausstellung:


AKTUELLE AUSSTELLUNGEN

DAUERAUSSTELLUNG

AUSSTELLUNGEN

AUSGEWÄHLTE WERKE

BIBLIOGRAFIE

PUBLIKATIONEN

KONTAKT





ENGLISH

Ursula Schulz-Dornburg

Architekturen des Wartens

Fotografien


29. Oktober 2004 - 12. Dezember 2004


Galerie Aedes West
Berlin

© Ursula Schulz-Dornburg.


© Ursula Schulz-Dornburg.
Press release


Die Fotografien von Ursula Schulz-Dornburg zeigen Unterstände zwischen Straße und Horizont, Siedlungsrand und Gebirge, Steppe und völligem Nichts in Übergangszonen, an denen sich die Frage stellt nach dem Zuhauseseinkönnen in einer Welt, in der sich die vertrauten Bezüge rasend schnell auflösen, in einer Welt der Migrationen und des Exils, eines neuen Nomadismus ohnegleichen.
Der Blick der Fotografin ist keineswegs monumentalisierend auf die Architektur gerichtet. Sie paktiert mit der im Hintergrund erscheinenden Landschaft und mit den wartenden Menschen davor. Die Menschen sind der lebendige Beweis für den blanken Nutzen der Gebäudeüberreste selbst in der Gegenwart, trotz ihrer ursprünglich gravitätisch-befremdenden Form und gerade angesichts ihrer gravierenden Baufälligkeit.
Die Bilder zeigen schweigsame, auf das Wesentliche reduzierte Situationen, die sich aus einem inneren Kern-Raum der Leere, der Stille heraus entfalten.
Schulz-Dornburgs fotografisches Werk bezieht sich auf eine der großen Entwicklungslinien der Moderne, indem Raum als dynamischer und mitunter dramatischer Prozess in Erscheinung tritt. Landschaften und Orte erscheinen in einer fragilen Balance von Entstehen und Vergehen, die Dinge stehen im Licht ihrer Endlichkeit.

Die Ausstellung findet statt im Zusammenhang des "Europäischen Monats der Fotografie".


© Ursula Schulz-Dornburg