URSULA SCHULZ-DORNBURG
Exhibition:


CURRENT EXHIBITIONS

PERMANENT EXHIBITION

EXHIBITIONS

SELECTED WORKS

BIBLIOGRAPHY

PUBLICATIONS

CONTACT





DEUTSCH

Tongkonan, Alang and the House without smoke
Houses for the Living and the Dead
Tana Toraja, Sulawesi, Indonesia
Photographs by Ursula Schulz-Dornburg


Aedes am Pfefferberg
Christinenstr. 18/19, 10625 Berlin
Germany

25.10. - 27.11.2008

Tel.: 030-2827015
Tue-Fri 11-18:30 .
Sat, Sun 13-17

© Ursula Schulz-Dornburg

PRESSINFORMATION:


‮‬

‬‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬

‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬

‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬

‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬

‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬

Ursula Schulz-Dornburg’s photographs of residences, rice storage buildings, and houses for the dead in Toraja in the mountains of Sulawesi in Indonesia awaken yearnings that cannot be put into words. Perhaps such feelings are evoked by the primal need – continually thematized by this photographer – for a dwelling, a home. Uninfluenced by colonial developments in this country, and going beyond their protective functions, such buildings are stamped by a symbolism that encompasses the entire cosmos. ‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬

And even if her gaze avoids stylizing such buildings into monuments, instead always embedding them into their village and landscape settings, Ursula Schulz-Dornburg nonetheless succeeds in capturing both the beauty of this so-called anonymous architecture, its assertive potency and distinctive cultural import.

"Residential buildings, rice storage facilities, and houses for the dead stand there like spaceships that have just landed. Stranded amidst rampant vegetation, yet ready to lift off at any moment, serviced and brought to life by people who are unhurried because they perceive both great things in small in their proper context." (Peter Kammerer)

Through these images, we realize that such houses for the living and for the dead can be created only through community. We also become aware of the dangers faced by human individuals in their environments, the way in which cultural identity is too often threatened by political and economic pressures.

This photographer’s tranquil black-and-white images elude the hurried glance. To absorb them means to open oneself to new encounters and experiences – to places of residence and ritual, to nature, to beauty, to vulnerability, and to the ephemeral.

The works of Ursula Schulz-Dornburg are known through numerous publications and exhibitions in Europe (Museum Ludwig, Cologne, etc.) and in the US (Art Institute Chicago, etc.), and have received international recognition. The artist lives in Düsseldorf.

An exhibition in the framework of the European Month of Photography, Berlin: www.mdf-berlin.de

For further information and illustrative material on the exhibition, please contact Beate Engelhorn: be@aedes-arc.de


Speakers at the opening are:
Kristin Feireiss, Aedes Berlin
Prof. Dr. Ing. Günther Uhlig, Karlsruhe

‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬

‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬

‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬

‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬

‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬‮‬

© Ursula Schulz-Dornburg

URSULA SCHULZ-DORNBURG
Ausstellung:


AKTUELLE AUSSTELLUNGEN

DAUERAUSSTELLUNG

AUSSTELLUNGEN

AUSGEWÄHLTE WERKE

BIBLIOGRAFIE

PUBLIKATIONEN

KONTAKT





ENGLISH

Tongkonan, Alang und das Haus ohne Rauch
Häuser für Lebende und Tote
Tana Toraja, Sulawesi, Indonesien
Fotografien von Ursula Schulz-Dornburg


Aedes am Pfefferberg
Christinenstr. 18/19, 10625 Berlin
Deutschland

25.10. - 27.11.2008

Tel.: 030-2827015
Di.-Fr.: 11-18:30
Sa., So.: 13-17


© Ursula Schulz-Dornburg

PRESSEINFORMATION


Ursula Schulz-Dornburgs Fotografien von Wohnhäusern, Reisspeichern und Totenhäusern der Torajas in den Bergen von Sulawesi, Indonesien erwecken Sehnsüchte, ohne dass man sie in Worte fassen kann. Vielleicht gehört dazu auch das von ihr immer wieder thematisierte Urbedürfnis des Menschen nach einer Behausung, nach einem Zuhause. Unbeeinflusst von der kolonialen Entwicklung des Landes sind diese Architekturen über ihre Schutzfunktion hinaus durch einen, das gesamte Universum einschließenden Symbolismus geprägt.

Auch wenn der Blick der Fotografin die Gebäude nicht zum Monument stilisiert und immer im Kontext von dörflicher Struktur und Landschaft erfasst, so gelingt es Ursula Schulz-Dornburg doch, nicht nur die Schönheit dieser so genannten anonymen Architekturen zu erfassen, sondern auch deren selbst bewusste Kraft und unverwechselbare kulturelle Aussage.

"Wohnhäuser, Reisspeicher, Totenhäuser stehen da wie gelandete Raumschiffe. Gestrandet in der wuchernden Vegetation, doch jeden Augenblick zum Abheben bereit, bedient und belebt von den Menschen, die keine Eile haben, weil sie die großen und die kleinen Dinge in ihrem Zusammenhang sehen." (Peter Kammerer)

In allen Arbeiten der Künstlerin wird nicht nur deutlich, dass diese Behausungen für Lebende und Tote nur in und durch eine Gemeinschaft entstehen können, sondern auch welchen Gefahren der Mensch in seinen Lebensräumen ausgesetzt ist und immer sein wird, oft gerade in dem Maße, in dem Kulturen durch politischen und wirtschaftlichen Druck ihre eigene Identität zu verlieren drohen.

Die stillen in schwarz-weiß gehaltenen Bilder der Fotografin entziehen sich dem schnellen Blick. Sich in sie zu vertiefen bedeutet das Zulassen von neuen Begegnungen und Erfahrungen - mit Wohn-und Kultstätten, mit der Natur, mit Schönheit, Zerbrechlichkeit und Vergänglichkeit.

Ursula Schulz-Dornburg wurde durch zahlreiche Publikationen und Ausstellungen in Europa (z.B.Museum Ludwig, Köln) und in den USA (z.B. Art Institute Chicago) bekannt und erlangte internationale Anerkennung. Die Künstlerin lebt in Düsseldorf.

Eine Ausstellung im Rahmen des Europäischen Monats der Fotografie, Berlin. Mehr Infos unter www.mdf-berlin.de.

Weitere Informationen und Bildmaterial zur Ausstellung erhalten Sie von Beate Engelhorn: be@aedes-arc.de.

Zur Eröffnung sprechen:
Kristin Feireiss, Aedes Berlin
Prof. Dr. Ing. Günther Uhlig, Karlsruhe

© Ursula Schulz-Dornburg