URSULA SCHULZ-DORNBURG
Exhibition:


CURRENT EXHIBITIONS

PERMANENT EXHIBITION

EXHIBITIONS

SELECTED WORKS

BIBLIOGRAPHY

PUBLICATIONS

CONTACT





DEUTSCH

From Medina to the Jordanian Border



11.11.2011-06.05.2012


Museum of Islamic Art
Pergamonmuseum – Museumsinsel Berlin



Press information:


In the run-up to our major exhibition, 'Roads of Arabia. Archaeological Treasures from Saudi Arabia', due to go on show at the Pergamon Museum on 26 January 2012, the Museum of Islamic Art now presents a series of stunning photographs by the Düsseldorf-based artist Ursula Schulz-Dornburg, featuring landscape shots from the Hejaz.

The Hejaz is an endless expanse of desert, traversed in parts by impassable mountains. The photographs capture the emptiness of this barren landscape, the faded trails and dirt roads that cross the land, apparently leading nowhere. They are the remains of ancient pilgrim and caravan routes, along which goods were transported from the south of Arabia to Syria in the north and vice versa.

At many points along these routes, the artist has especially managed to capture the strange remnants of a not too distant past that nevertheless seems like an age away. Railway tracks covered in sand, rusted locomotives, deserted stations: vague memories of the Hejaz Railway, once an engineering project of great political significance, which was built from 1900 to 1908 by the Ottomans with German aid, as a way of securing greater control over the Arabian provinces.

Ursula Schulz-Dornburg is known internationally for her numerous exhibitions in Europe, the Middle East and the USA. She travelled around the Hejaz in 2003.





© Ursula Schulz-Dornburg

URSULA SCHULZ-DORNBURG
Ausstellung:


AKTUELLE AUSSTELLUNGEN

DAUERAUSSTELLUNG

AUSSTELLUNGEN

AUSGEWÄHLTE WERKE

BIBLIOGRAFIE

PUBLIKATIONEN

KONTAKT





ENGLISH

Von Medina an die jordanische Grenze



11.11.2011-06.05.2012


Museum für Islamische Kunst – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin
Pergamonmuseum – Museumsinsel Berlin



Presseinformation:


Im Vorgriff auf die große Sonderausstellung "Roads of Arabia. Archäologische Schätze aus Saudi-Arabien", die ab 26. Januar 2012 im Pergamonmuseum zu sehen ist, zeigt das Museum für Islamische Kunst die Fotografie-Serie der Düsseldorfer Künstlerin Ursula Schulz-Dornburg mit Landschaften aus dem Hedschas.

Der Hedschas ist eine endlos weite, in Teilen von unwegsamen Gebirgen durchzogene Wüstenregion. Die Fotografien fangen die Leere dieser kargen Landschaft ein, wie auch die der dort verlaufenen Wegspuren und Schotterpisten, die scheinbar ins Nichts führen: uralte Pilgerwege und Karawanenrouten, auf denen jahrtausendelang Güter vom südlichen Arabien ins nördliche Syrien und umgekehrt transportiert worden sind.

Entlang dieser Wege hat die Künstlerin vor allem aber auch die fremdartigen Zeugnisse einer Zeit festgehalten, die noch nicht allzu lange her, doch trotzdem längst vergangen scheint: versandete Gleise, verlassene Bahnhöfe, verrostete Lokomotiven. Vage Erinnerungen an die Hedschas-Bahn: das einst politisch so hoch verwickelte Eisenbahnprojekt, das in den Jahren 1900-08 vom osmanischen Reich mit deutscher Unterstützung ins Leben gerufen wurde, vor allem um die arabischen Provinzen besser kontrollieren zu können.

Ursula Schulz-Dornburg ist durch zahlreiche Ausstellungen in Europa, im Mittleren Osten und in den USA international bekannt. Den Hedschas hat sie 2003 bereist.








Museumsjournal: "Von Medina an die jordanische Grenze" / PDF

Sharq Gharb Al-Thaqafiya East West Culture Journal: "Vor Sonnenaufgang" / PDF

Der Tagesspiegel: "Fotografien aus Saudi-Arabien auf der Museumsinsel" / PDF


© Ursula Schulz-Dornburg